Haak, faculty, staff honored for service to FPU

Harold Haak was sent out with a song as president of Fresno Pacific University.

Honoring Haak’s love of music, university staff wrote new lyrics to “Thanks for the Memory,” which was sung to Haak during the Faculty and Staff Appreciation Dinner May 3. Haak ends his two-year term as president in June, and D. Merrill Ewert will become the university’s 10th president.

Also at the dinner four faculty were named emeriti for their years of full-time service: Dalton Reimer is stepping down as co-director of the Center for Peacemaking and Conflict Studies, but remains on the faculty. During his 42 years with the university he has also been dean and chair of the humanities division as well as a teacher. Larry Warkentin retires after 39 years as chair of the music department. Devon Wiens retires after 31 years on the biblical and religious studies faculty. Judith Hillen retired from the graduate mathematics and science education program after19 years. She will remain active with AIMS (Activities Integrating Mathematics and Science) Education Foundation.

Distinguished service awards went to Ron Claassen, co-director of the Center for Peacemaking and Conflict Studies; Mark Deffenbacher, vice president of advancement and university relations; Ted Nickel, psychology faculty; and Dee Robb, assistant to the college dean. Roy Klassen, music faculty, was given a special honor for 25 years of service.

Faculty and staff with at least 20 years of service are:

DaltonReimer      42  Center for Peacemaking and Conflict Studies

Gary Nachtigall    41  Geography/athletic director

Larry Warkentin   39  Music

Edmund Janzen    34  Biblical studies

Richard Unruh      34  Political science

Louise Quiring     33  Graduate school staff

Paul Toews           33  History

Devon Wiens        31  Biblical studies

Wayne Huber        28  Music

Richard Wiebe      27  Philosophy

Bill Cockerham    26  Biology/physical education

Roy Klassen          25  Music

Sue Kliewer          23  Human resources

Steve Brandt         22  Hiebert Library

Ruth Heinrichs     22  Business

Dee Robb              21  Undergraduate college

Anne Guenther     20  Hiebert Library

Marlene Hanke     20  Business Office

Beverly Kopper    20  Advancement

Dennis Langhofer 20  Center for Degree Completion