• Student with computer sitting at desk

The Supplemental Authorization in Mathematics program seeks to prepare and certify qualified teachers, who already possess a multiple-subjects credential to teach mathematics in middle school (grades 6-8). This program consists of four mathematics courses over two semesters, totaling ten units of graduate study, designed to enhance the mathematical content knowledge of elementary and middle grades teachers. Upon completion, students can apply to the California Commission on Teaching Credentialing (CCTC www.ctc.ca.gov) to receive the Supplemental Authorization in Mathematics. These courses may also be utilized to meet the mathematics requirements of the Master of Arts in Mathematics Education (Elementary/Middle School Emphasis) offered at FPU.


  • Districts are seeking credentialed teachers increasing their authorizations
  • Courses are offered on campus or fully online
  • Math instruction will employ a Low-Floor – High-Ceiling approach that research indicates to be highly effective
  • Seamless transition into a Master of Arts degree if desired
  • Scholarships are available

Career opportunities

School districts in the Central Valley, and across California, come to us regularly looking for middle school math teachers. There is a strong need for qualified middle school math teachers within California and beyond. This authorization will allow teachers to be at the forefront of meeting this need.

Program director

Photo of Christopher Brownwell, Ph.D.

Christopher Brownell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Mathematics and STEM Education, Program Director, Mathematics Education

Admission requirements

  • Application form and fee: fpu.edu/applygrad
  • One current professional reference form
  • Official transcripts verifying BA/BS degree
  • Valid California Credential
  • Statement of intent

Course listing

MATH 721Math Core I2.5
MATH 722Math Core II2.5
MATH 723Math Core III2.5
MATH 724Math Core IV2.5

State Authorization

State authorization is a federal requirement in the HigherEducation Act that requires institutions to be authorized in the state in which online programs are offered. Fresno Pacific University works regularly with individual state authorization agencies to meet each state's requirements. Currently, Fresno Pacific University has received authorization to offer online degree programs in all but six states: Georgia, Michigan, New York, New Mexico, Rhode Island and Wisconsin.

For the latest updates on the status of FPU's authorization in your state, contact your FPU Admissions representative.